Passion for passions

Lately I have been going through the motions of everyday life. Work sleep eat repeat. All the while thinking about everything from day to day life, to life goals, to life on other continents. While I was at work the other day a friend of mine texted me and told me that I was a man of many hobbies. That got me to thinking, with so many of these hobbies am I trying to run away from something or am I just trying to live my life to the fullest. As I pondered this thought it occured to me. While yes I was always trying to run away from neverending student loan payments, I was also on the other hand looking to take advantage of every aspect of life that I could. I am the type of person that when I find something that is interesting I dont just get into it. I DIVE into it. Take backpacking for example, I fell in love with backpacking, so what do I do I start my own guide business. From there it went to whats the biggest and most badass thing a person could do in the backpacking world. Long Distance hiking came up in conversation. Living in the wilderness for months and months on end seemed like a thrill! I took it on and had the time of my life.

The thought of a new passion besides backpacking has got me to thinking a lot lately. What are people without passions. If a person doesnt have a passion for something are they truly living or are they just a machine? In my opinion they are the latter. They go through the motions of everyday life just to get ahead, to pay the bill, and to go and do what normal society says they should be doing… Is that living to you? To me its the complete opposite. Life without passions is dull, boring, and non-exhistant. I am a man of many passions. I have a passion for outdoors, music, bikes, good quality beer, good conversation, positive energy, friendships, and family. To me nothing else matters, because with putting everything I have into my passions it makes a complete person. The love for something, desire to create, and advance in life thrills me.

Riding bikes has been a true passion of mine since I was a kid. I have owned many many many bikes. But the one I own right now is particularly special to me. Fixed gear road biking has quickly caught on to my keen sense of creativity. The possibilities are endless. The use of many different parts to create something that expresses ones desire and love for bikes intrigues me on a daily basis. Everytime I get on my “fixie” I feel like it belongs with me and is apart of me. Attached to this machine making it move and taking me to the places that i need to go. I feel like I am one with my bike and the bike is me.

Follow you passions. They will lead you places you never thought you would go.

What Say You?

