Tranquility Of Darkness

I was sitting around my house this evening realizing that I hadn’t been outside much, if any of the day besides to go pick up a pizza for dinner. I thought to myself i need to do something to get rid of the cabin fever that had stricken my body. I asked a friend (http://www.saraspcthike.blogspot.com/) what should I do She replies with the greatest answer a hiker can ask for. “Go for a walk.” I left my house in my base camp down jacket without a light a phone or anything. Just plain me. I walked around the block which is pretty large. The overall walk was probably 20-30 minutes. The simpleness of a city at night reminded me of walking on the Pacific Crest Trail. It was completely peaceful. Everything was at rest. I could almost picture the houses being boulders and canyons that I long to walk through once again.

The cars were trees, and the streets were creeks. For a short time I had distinctive flashbacks of places I had seen on the trail. I adore these flashbacks. I wish that I could stay in them all the time. Soon I will be back in the very places that I have flashbacks about. I miss the PCT. It feels the most like a home that I have felt in a very long time. I get asked why do it again and that the main reason. Its home. The west coast is home. The cascades is home.

THE TRAIL IS HOME

One thought on “Tranquility Of Darkness

What Say You?

