Art Behind Adventure

Last year when I walked the 2650 miles of the PCT I took a small point and shoot camera. While this was enough for a while,  the desire to have my DSLR on trail grew as the miles did. When I returned from the trail this year, I told myself, “I am going to figure out a way to have a light DSLR on the trail.” The first thing that popped into my head was taking apart my canon rebel XS. It was sometime into the random thought of this that I discovered the Nikon 1.

The Nikon 1 is a lightweight camera with the comforts and quality of a DSLR.  There are many features available for the camera including the ability to swap lens’. I have an attachment to be able to put any Nikon lens on it. Sometimes it looks a bit goofy with the 70-300 lens on there, but I dont mind as long as it gets the shot I want. When I started reading about the Nikon 1, I was a little skeptical on the size versus the quality of the shots. With 10 mega pixels the Nikon 1 has the large image size and crisp contrast as my old Canon Rebel. Along with the question of quality came my question on the low light shots capability. After a test go in a cave with 100 tea lights it proved itself worthy by getting into the local paper. The Nikon 1 also boasts a lighting fast shutter. At 1/16,000 of a second, you are sure to capture whatever it is that you are trying to capture.

Overall I think that the Nikon 1 is going to make a great addition to my travels this year, and really going to allow me to share more with others. Id give it a 9 out of 10. It is great on size, versatility and weight. Nikon made the perfect DSLR for backpacking in my opinion. Only thing would be cool is if there were some sort of waterproof casing you could get for it. Here is a link to my portfolio using the Nikon 1. Also a link to the Nikon 1 Nikon page where you can find all the information you would like to know about the Nikon 1 series.

ADVENTURECROW NIKON 1 Photography

Nikon 1 specs

4 thoughts on “Art Behind Adventure

  1. I’m really intrigued to see how this camera works out on your hike. I’ve been struggling with the same issues- and have never hiked with a DSLR but as I’ve come to start wanting more from my photography I plan to do so on any hikes I take this season (which I fully expect to be a pain in the ass!) The J1’s had already caught my eye, so I’m excited that you’ll be field testing this camera and hope it proves to be the alternative to a DSLR that many of us hikers are hoping for.

      1. Greg Fortune

        I have a J1 as well and have some wicked pictures with it, but I’m really struggling with the issue of battery power. Are you packing a pile of extra Nikon batteries (expensive!, but light) or some kind of charging system?

What Say You?

