An All inclusive USB world

So before I started on this great trip that I am going on I decided to become fully self sustaining, meaning buying a solar charger. I got the solio solar chager from REI which so far has proved itself worthy charging my ipod twice and my phone once on a single charge. I think that this little device is going to save me a lot of money in the long run not having to buy batteries while I travel. The only thing that I need is food. Which is a pretty remarkable feeling. The Solio Solar charger gets a 9 out of 10 for me. A 9 only because I have not had the oppurtunity to expose it to some sunlight and be able to use it as a true charger. Charging it via a plug in works well and will charge the entire thing in less than 2 hrs. Which is less than it takes to charge my cell phone and ipod once. To me thats a win

2 thoughts on “An All inclusive USB world

  1. Very cool. Along the lines of saving money- I hate to admit it but I’ve actually stayed in motels for the ability to recharge camera batteries. (Well, not the only factor, but definitely weighed heavy on the decision on rather to spend the night in a town or pull a nero and pass on through.) I’m not usually such a gear geek, but between this and the new Nikon I’ll be looking forward to hearing how they perform for you long term. Sounds like you’re off to a good start. Keep riding strong!

What Say You?

