The Protector

When I was looking into tents and shelters this year I took a lot into account. Number 1 was that it had to be light weight. Now don’t get me wrong there is nothing better than the shelter of a good tent, but there is weight that goes with it.

I chose to hike with the Marmot Alpinist Bivy Sack this year. The Alpinist Bivy is made of Marmots MemBrain Strata.

Marmot’s own lightweight waterproof / breathable technology. A lamination technology that rates a whopping 20,000mm in waterproof performance and 20,000 gr in breathability.

Requiring neither lining nor 3-layer construction like many similar lamination processes, MemBrain® Strata™ products are by far the lightest, most breathable garments in their categories.

The Alpinist Bivy has kept the elements out while keeping me warm and toasty inside. I’m excited to see what this little guy can do. There is enough room for my Exped UL 7 sleeping mat to fit on the inside, and still leaves enough room for my pack, shoes, and anything else I could possibly need to put inside. Warning though do not fully zip the bivy closed it is hard to breath (personal experience).

One thought on “The Protector

What Say You?

