Days 8 & 9. Wet.Wetter.Wetest

I left Susanville California headed to chico. I got on a bus in Susanville and got off in Chester Ca. Turns out the PCT crosses 10 miles west on the highway. I got off here and took a little break took some photos of the sign and continued on my way. When I got to the highway 32 cutoff, I switched my hub over from fixed gear to single speed. This allowed me to coast down the hills. From the top of the mountain at 6000 ft to 195 ft of elevation in Chico, California. Needless to say that’s a lot of downhill. Without having to pedal I was able to be in more control of the bike going downhill and was able to focus more on the road.

I setup camp near hwy 32 in the middle of nowhere. It took me nearly an hour to get a good fire going because everything was wet. I had realized that my fire building skills needed much improvement. While hiking the pct last year I didnt encounter much wet weather. I experienced around 3 good days of rain. So I didnt have the chance to practice making wet fires. I learned a good amount of patience is the best thing to building a wet fire. I went to sleep and woke up to a light sprinkle that morning.

I woke up and ate a snack and proceeded on my way. Little did I know that the rain was really coming down when it wasnt hitting the trees before. So I proceeded down the mountains pouring and pouring and pouring the entire way down. I rode 35 miles down to chico california. I met up with a good trail friend and genuinely had a good time. Tomorrow I will take a side trip to Spanish Forks, UT to attend the Holi Festival of Colors. 

What Say You?

